Hawaiian chicken

Hawaiian chicken is one of my favorite dishes. I just love the flavors involved and how they mingle together. So I guess it was natural for me to experiment with adding Kilimanjaro’s Sunrise Ginger Syrup to one of my Hawaiian chicken dishes. The recipe I’ll be sharing in this article went over very well at a BBQ I hosted this past weekend and all my guests wanted to know what the “something extra” was they were tasting. I told them they’d have to read my article to find out! So here is my recipe for Grilled Hawaiian  Chicken with  Ginger Syrup.

Ingredients:
* 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
* Enough pineapple rings to cover the chicken breast (2 or 3 should work)

Marinade:
* 1/2 cup soy sauce
* 1/4 cup rice vinegar
* 1/4 cup canola oil
* 1/4 cup brown sugar
* 1/4 cup Sunrise Ginger Syrup
* 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

Directions
1. Mix all marinade ingredients and add chicken. Marinate for 1 to 2 hours, no more.
2. Heat grill to medium-high.
3. Place chicken on grill and pineapple rings on chicken and grill until chicken is cooked through (about 5 minutes on each side depending on the thickness of the chicken).

Grilled Hawaiian Chicken with Ginger Syrup Skewers

Ingredients:
* 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch squares
* 2 cups fresh pineapple, cut into 1-inch squares
* 2 cups red peppers, cut into 1-inch squares

Marinade:
* 1/2 cup soy sauce
* 1/4 cup rice vinegar
* 1/4 cup canola oil
* 1/4 cup brown sugar
* 1/4 cup Sunrise Ginger Syrup
* 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
Directions:
1. Mix all marinade ingredients and add chicken. Marinate for 1 to 2 hours, no more.
2. If you are using wooden skewers, be sure to soak them in water for 2 hours.
3. Heat grill to medium-high.
4. Alternate chicken, pineapple and pepper pieces on skewers. Place on grill until chicken is cooked through, about 5 minutes on each side.

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as my guests and I did! Of course, we always encourage experimentation so try other flavor combinations and let us know what you come up with.

Ask your local grocer to carry Kilimanjaro’s line of gourmet sauces

